Policy 2-004.R4

Policy 8-2 Rev 4

Date May 17, 1999

Subject: UNIVERSITY REGULATIONS - Chapter II ORGANIZATION OF THE UNIVERSITY

SECTION 1. ACADEMIC ORGANIZATION

The academic department shall be the standard unit of instruction of the university. It shall concern itself with the work and subjects assigned to it. For purposes of administration a department shall be assigned to a school or college but may serve other schools, colleges, or divisions.

A school, college or division is (1) an administrative organization of related departments or functions of departments, or (2) a unit of instruction and administration representing a recognized professional field. With the exception of the graduate schools and the division of continuing education, principal instructional and administrative units are ordinarily designated as colleges.

The university libraries shall consist of the Marriott Library and its branches reporting to the vice president for academic affairs, the Eccles Health Science Library reporting to the vice president for health sciences and the S.J. Quinney Law Library in the college of law reporting to the dean of the college of law.

SECTION 2. ADMINISTRATIVE ORGANIZATION

Administrative offices shall be organized as necessary to represent the several academic units or combinations of these, the general university administration, and other services, agencies and functions of the university.

SECTION 3. FACULTY RANKS

The following ranks in the university educational staff are hereby established: president, vice president, dean, director of libraries, professor, (including distinguished professor and university professor), associate professor, assistant professor, instructor, librarian, associate librarian, assistant librarian, and affiliate librarian. Auxiliary ranks may be designated by adding the prefatory word "research," "clinical," "lecturer," "adjunct," or visiting" to the respective academic ranks of professor, associate professor, associate professor, associate librarian, associate librarian, associate professor, associate librarian, associate librarian, associate professor, as

SECTION 4. UNIVERSITY FACULTIES AND COUNCILS

Policy 2-004.R4

The following faculties and councils are hereby established in the University of Utah: the university faculty, the school and college faculties, the Academic Senate, the Graduate Council, the Council of Academic Deans, the Administrative Council, and the school or college councils as describe in Faculty Regulations.

Approved: Academic Senate 5/3/99

Approved: Board of Trustees 5/17/99

M03