

Memorandum

To: Senate Faculty Review Standards Committee (SFRSC)

Sarah Projansky, Associate Vice President for Faculty and Senior Vice President

Designee

C/O: Trina Rich, SFRSC Secretary

From: Professor V. Kim Martinez, Chair, Department of Art & Art History

Date: January 29, 2024

Re: Update of External Letter Requirement in Department of Art & Art History guidelines

The Department of Art & Art History is requesting to update the number of external evaluations required for formal reviews, including [retention, promotion, and/or tenure reviews]. The following language will supersede the current guideline language.

The University requires a minimum of 3 external evaluations for a formal tenure and/or promotion file to be complete.

The candidate must provide a list of 5 or more potential external evaluators and provide any information about potential conflicts by April 01. The RPT Advisory Committee Chair, after consulting with the Department Chair and considering the list of potential evaluators submitted by the candidate as well as any information about any conflicts, will endeavor to obtain the department required 3 or more external evaluations, and will obtain no fewer than the University minimum of 3 for each formal tenure review and each formal promotion (either to Associate Professor or to Professor) review.

External evaluators are not required for a mid-probationary formal retention review or a triggered formal retention review; however, 2 external evaluators are required for a triggered formal retention review in which the candidate requests them or a majority of the DAC votes that the candidate's research/creative activity is at issue. In these cases, the University considers the file complete with a minimum of 2 external evaluations.

Approval Vote:	The Department faculty vo	oted on January 29	, 2024 to approve	the proposed
amendment.				

Yes:	13	No:	1	Abstain:	0
------	----	-----	---	----------	---

14 out of 16 eligible tenure voters	
(21 total) 3 sabbatical/leave 2 excused	
Approvals:	
Department Chair Approval (if Department	nt level document):
anh	January 29, 2024
V. Kim Martinez Department Chair	Date
Dean Approval:	January 30, 2024
John Scheib Dean, College of [College]	Date
SFRSC Review Committee Approval:	
Thina Rich	March 1, 2024
Trina Rich SFRSC Committee Secretary	Date
Senior Vice President Approval:	M 1 20 2024
Sarah Projansky	March 28, 2024 Date
Senior Vice President Designee	